Jump to accessibility statement Skip to content

Contact us


Home / More... / Research / Contact Research Support / Academic Research Support
A library scene

Contact Academic Research Support

Academic Research Support is part of the University's Enterprise and Innovation directorate.

If you have a general query, please contact: research.support@sunderland.ac.uk

University of Sunderland
Academic Research Support
Design Centre
Room 214
City Campus
Chester Road
Sunderland
SR1 3SD

Martin Finlayson
Head of Research Support
T: +44 (0)191 515 3065
E: martin.finlayson@sunderland.ac.uk

Martin leads the University's Research Support Office.


Charlotte Emmerson

Research Development Officer
Tel: +44 (0)191 515 2681
Email: charlotte.emmerson@sunderland.ac.uk

Charlotte is the University’s Research Development Officer. She actively identifies research funding opportunities and develops funding proposals. She is also the officer for the University Research and Innovation Committee and analyses, collates and presents data to inform monitoring of progress against University targets for Research.


Callum Williams
Research Support Coordinator
Tel: +44 (0) 191 515 2152
Email: callum.williams@sunderland.ac.uk

Callum assists the Funding Development Team and actively identifies potential funding opportunities. He develops research proposals, and assists in the analysis of data to inform monitoring of progress against University targets for Research.


Veronique Laniel
Research Environment Support Co-ordinator
T: +44 (0)191 515 3202 
E: veronique.laniel@sunderland.ac.uk

Veronique provides support to enhancing the University Research Environment, she is responsible for planning, coordinating and promoting research events and activities, she is  also officer to the Research Ethics Group.


Michelle Marshall
REF Co-ordinator
Tel: +44 (0)191 515 3260
Email: michelle.marshall@sunderland.ac.uk

Michelle provides administration and coordination of activities that support the University to maximise its REF submission. It involves coordinating REF reporting and monitoring of the University’s REF and research plans and activities.

Rachel Ramsey
REF impact Officer
T: +44 (0)191 515 2527
E: rachel.ramsey@sunderland.ac.uk

Rachel supports all impact-related activity across the University. She works with academics to identify what difference their research can make, who could benefit, and how to make that happen. She can support you with idea generation, planning, knowledge brokerage and seeking support for impact activities.


Leah Maughan
Research Repository (SURE) and Publishing Co-ordinator
T: + 44(0)191 515 2210
E: leah.maughan@sunderland.ac.uk

Leah manages the University institutional repository (SURE) ensuring items deposited in the repository are funder and REF compliant. She can also advise on matters of academic publishing including Open Access routes and metrics.