Centre for Business and Management Research

Home / More... / Research / Research Institutes / Business, Law and Tourism / Centre for Business and Management Research
Staff working on a desk

Centre for Business and Management Research

About us

The Centre for Business and Management Research (CBMR) was established in 2017 and is a multi-disciplinary centre at the University of Sunderland, Faculty of Business, Law and Tourism. It supports research and the scholarly-oriented activities of its members. The Centre reflects contemporary issues in the field of business and management and the wide-ranging research interests of the staff. Our vision is to conduct quality research that underpins the curriculum and makes a positive impact on business, managers, professionals and people in the wider community.

CBMR is committed to being a leading research incubator in three equally valued and inter-related activities: education, research and impactful community engagement. The University of Sunderland Strategic Plan 2016 – 2021 ensures that good work in this area continues and CBMR will proudly contribute to this. We will continue to develop and enhance real-world impact research.


CBMR’s research is focused under four main themes, with the overall aim of developing expertise that underpins our courses and produces high-impact research output.

The main areas of our research are:


  • Future leaders
  • Place-based leadership
  • Women in leadership


  • Corporate Social Responsibility
  • Dynamic capabilities
  • Enterprise and internationalization
  • Finance and Applied Economics
  • Innovation
  • Operations

Management education and professional development

  • Employability
  • Inclusivity, diversity and equality
  • Innovative methods for researching and teaching managers
  • Professional practice


  • Consumer analysis
  • Digital marketing
  • Third sector marketing


Our people

Centre Director: 

Dr Stella Sofianopoulou



Dr Paul-Alan Armstrong

Dr Linda Barkas

Dr Seema Bhate

Dr Julia Nobari

Dr Augustus E Osseo-Assare

Dr Hamid Seddighi

Dr Janet Ward

Dr Derek Watson

William Ang’awa

Ian Carr

Peter Coleman

John Dixon-Dawson

Yvonne Dixon-Todd

Kym Drady

Anne Edwards

Robert Hall

Mohan Namasivayam

Graeme John Price     

Sarah Robson


Visiting Professors

Dr Maxine Craig

Dr Andrew Maxwell

Gary Shaw


PhD Researchers

Abbas Alkhidir

Agon Sopa

Alexis Krishna Bunnetat

Andrew John Moore

Dishi Xu

Gurdeep Singh

Hassan Hamad Hasan Aldboush

James Aaron Hennerley

Jonathan Backhouse

Justin Bateh

Marvin Sarkodie-Frimpong

Mona Ibrahim Mohamed Gomaa

Nguyen Hong Van Tran

Nicholas Mapletoft

Niklas Wilhelm Vallstrom

Peter Asuata

Shujun Zhang

Sofia Pandi

Yuan Zhai