Jump to accessibility statement Skip to content

Equality, Diversity, Inclusion and Social Responsibility Group


Home / About / About the University / Equality, Diversity and Inclusion / EDISRG

The Equality, Diversity, Inclusion and Social Responsibility Group has responsibility for ensuring the development and delivery of the University’s EDISR strategy.

The Group will:

  • Promote, champion and encourage a culture where EDISR is embedded across the University in every aspect of work and where staff and students feel comfortable to be themselves
  • Challenge the University on its practice, approach and development of EDISR; in particular where progress is limited or, in support of underrepresented or disadvantaged individuals/groups

 

A group photo of the Equality and Diversity Team

 

Membership

Jon Timmis

Chair

Jon.timmis@sunderland.ac.uk 

Justine Gillespie

EDI Manager and Deputy Chair

Justine.Gillespie@sunderland.ac.uk   

Katy Walker

(Sophia Grainger)

Human Resources and Organisational Development

Sophia.Grainger@sunderland.ac.uk   

Joanne Wake

Academic Registry

Joanne.wake@sunderland.ac.uk   

Martin Finlayson

Enterprise & Innovation

martin.finlayson@sunderland.ac.uk  

Caroline Mitchell

Faculty of Arts & Creative Industries

caroline.mitchell@sunderland.ac.uk   

Donna Chambers

Faculty of Business, Law & Tourism

Donna.Chambers@sunderland.ac.uk  

William Ang’awa

Faculty of Business, Law & Tourism

william.angawa@sunderland.ac.uk   

Alastair Irons

Faculty of Technology

alastair.irons@sunderland.ac.uk  

Andrew Dalton (Drew)

Faculty of Education & Society

Andrew.Dalton@sunderland.ac.uk  

Richard Darby Davis

Faculty of Health Sciences & Wellbeing

Richard.Darby-Davis@sunderland.ac.uk   

Paula Bass

Facilities

Paula.bass@sunderland.ac.uk   

Joanne Usher

Executive and Officer to the group

J.Usher@sunderland.ac.uk  

Wendy Price

Marketing & Recruitment

wendy.price@sunderland.ac.uk   

Julie Stephenson

National Glass Centre

julia.stephenson@sunderland.ac.uk  

Susan Ritchie

Planning & Finance

susan.ritchie@sunderland.ac.uk   

Joanna Willetts

Unison

joanna.willetts@sunderland.ac.uk   

Ben Hodgson

Student Journey

Ben.Hodgson@sunderland.ac.uk   

Chris Howson

University Chaplain

chaplain@sunderland.ac.uk  

Colina Wright

Chief Executive Officer USSU

colina.wright@sunderland.ac.uk 

Eleanor Farrington

Students’ Union

eleanor.farrington@sunderland.ac.uk 

David Hogarth

Technical Services

david.hogarth@sunderland.ac.uk   

Ilona Lewicka

University of Sunderland London Campus

Ilona.Lewicka@sunderland.ac.uk   

Bryan Pepple

Student Representative

Bryan.pepple@sunderland.ac.uk 

Contact us

If you have any questions about the EDISR group, or would like to see minutes from recent meetings, please contact:

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Manager: justine.gillespie@sunderland.ac.uk

ReciteMe accessibility toolbar button