Jump to accessibility statement Skip to content
Louise Hunter governor

Governor and Deputy-Chair of the Board of Governors

Following previous roles training as a Chartered Accountant with KPMG in Edinburgh and at Business in the Community, Louise initially joined Northumbrian Water Group in 2006 to lead its sustainability strategy as Head of Corporate Responsibility, and was appointed to her current role of Director of Corporate Affairs in July 2012.

Louise has responsibility for PR and Media, Marketing and Brand, Public Affairs, Internal Communications and Corporate Partnerships, including community and sustainability programmes. During the last 15 years, Louise has driven Northumbrian Water’s approach to sustainability, the success of which has been recognised by; Business in the Community’s Corporate Responsibility Index, where NWG has scored among the top UK companies since 2009; the achievement of the Queen’s Award for Sustainability in 2009 and in 2014; and being named as the only water utility on the Ethisphere Global list of most ethical companies for the last nine years. In 2013 Louise's work in responsible business practice was recognised by HRH The Prince of Wales with a 'Game Changer' award and in 2017 received an MBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours for services to Business and Corporate Responsibility.

Louise is an active member of the North East business community, with roles on the Board of the North East of England Chamber of Commerce, CBI Council and a trustee of the Centre for Life and vice chair of trustees of the iconic art gallery, Baltic. She has also recently been appointed as a governor of Sunderland University. In 2008 she led the development of the Northumbrian Water sponsored Sunderland academy school, Castle View Enterprise Academy, and since then has continued to work as a governor in the school and a director of the trust to support the school to transform from one of the worst schools in Sunderland to become one of the highest performing schools in the region.

Louise was appointed Deputy-Chair of the Board in 2023.