Board of Governors

Home / Help and Advice / Corporate and legal / Legal and finance / Board of Governors

Board of Governors membership consists of independent members, who must make up the majority of the Board, in addition to staff and student representatives and a nominee from the local council and a representative with a specialist background in Education.  Independent governors are appointed for a three-year term and can serve a maximum of three terms.  While staff representatives can serve for consecutive two-year terms.  The student representatives change every year as these are ex-officio posts attached to the roles of the President of the Students Union and the Student Representative Officer. The Instrument of Government sets out the full requirements in relation to Board of Governor membership.

The University's Articles of Government summarise the responsibilities of the Board of Governors:-

  • the determination of the educational character and mission of the University and for oversight of its activities
  • the effective and efficient use of resources, the solvency of the University
  • approving annual estimates of income and expenditure

The full Statement of Primary Responsibilities for the Board of Governors is set out here.

 Meetings of the Board of Governors and its associated Committees are serviced by the Legal and Governance Team.  Meetings of the Board take place usually 6 times per year.

The Chair and Vice Chair of the Board of Governors must be independent governors, although they are elected by the whole of the Board.

The process for the appointment of independent members to the Board of Governors is set out here.

Audit Committee

Terms of Reference of Audit Committee

Membership of Audit Committee

Sue Forster (Chair)

Alison Thain

Derek Curtis

John Mowbray


Mike Kirkup (external co-optee)

Finance & Development Committee

Finance & Development Committee Terms of Reference

Membership of Finance & Development Committee

Margaret Fay (Chair)

Farooq Hakim

Paul Feechan

Shirley Atkinson

Employment Committee

Terms of Reference of Employment Committee

Membership of Employment Committee

Paul McGowan (Chair)

Councillor Cecilia Gofton

Umesh Patel

Ellen Thinnesen

Shirley Atkinson

Culture Committee

Terms of Reference - Culture Committee

Membership of National Glass Centre Board

John Mowbray (Chair)

Umesh Patel

Paul Feechan

Shirley Atkinson


Vacancy (external)

Observers - 

Arts Council observer

City Council observer

Nominations Committee

Terms of Reference of Nominations Committee

Membership of Nominations Committee

John Mowbray

Alison Thain

Shirley Atkinson


Remuneration Committee

Terms of Reference of Remuneration Committee

Membership of Remuneration Committee

John Mowbray (Chair)

Margaret Fay

Paul McGowan

Sue Forster