Jump to accessibility statement Skip to content

What are postgraduate degrees?

Home / Help and advice / Info for international students / Courses / What are postgraduate degrees?

'Postgraduate degree' is the name given to any higher education course for which an undergraduate degree is an entry requirement.  

We offer taught postgraduate degrees and research postgraduate degrees.

Examples of taught postgraduate degrees include:

  • Master of Arts (MA)
  • Master of Science (MSc)
  • Master of Engineering (MEng)
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA)
  • Master of Laws (LLM)
  • Master of Philosophy (MPhil)

Examples of research postgraduate degrees include:

  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
  • Doctor of Science (DSc)
  • Doctor of Law (LLD)